When the profit target is reached, I would like auto-trading automatically stop  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Gian Maria Rossi

When the profit target is reached, I would like auto-trading automatically stop

Postby Gian Maria Rossi » 11 Oct 2023

A warm greeting to the entire Multicharts forum community.

I've owned a lifetime license for Multicharts for many years, but I've never ask access to the forum until now, so this is my first post. I hope you can kindly assist me.

I've been using Adaptrade Builder for several years solely for study purposes (I've conducted more than 50,000 tests), and now it's time to transition to real trading (with Multicharts plus Interactive Brokers).

My plan is to manage the trading systems generated by Adaptrade Builder with an overall profit target for each system. Essentially, I want to calculate an expected profit for each system I choose to trade in real markets, and when this profit target is achieved (either with a single trade or with the cumulative result of multiple trades potentially spanning in multiple trading days), I want the system to automatically stop trading.

It's important to note that I don't want this global profit target to be calculated in real-time while a trade is in progress. Instead, I'd like it to be determined at the conclusion of the last trade that results in a profit (i.e., accounted trade). This means that the actual profit earned might exceed the expected target. Therefore, I'd like this overall profit target to be calculated based on the series of recorded trades (accounted trades): depending on the market scenario, this could involve a single trade reaching the profit target or multiple trades occurring over several trading days.