+1 888 340 6572
MultiCharts Project Management
previous_open_issue.png
Go to the previous open issue
previous_issue.png
Go to the previous issue (open or closed)
star_faded.png
Please log in to bookmark issues
feature_request_small.png
Closed Feature request MC-193

Allow workspace auto-save

action_vote_minus_faded.png
12
Votes
action_vote_plus_faded.png
next_issue.png
Go to the next issue (open or closed)
next_open_issue.png
Go to the next open issue
icon_info.png This issue has been closed with status "Declined" and resolution "Not determined".
Description

Today something happened and my computer crashed.
I had one workspace with four charts, each with a different time frame and all with several trendlines and comments.
Needless to say that I lost it all with the crash. Now, remembering everything that we have said and draw all trendlines again, rememeber where you've drawn them, well, let's say that it will be  a very unpleasent night.
What I was thinking was something similar to what MS Office has, an auto-saving. We could specified the time for each auto-save. This way we could be certain that all your manual work would be saved in case of a fatal error.
Naturally that this feature need to save all charts in the workspace, but preferably, if this auto-save could be performed on all opened workspaces even better.

Steps to reproduce this issue

-

Comments (4)
#0
user-offline.png  disputin (disputin)
May 13, 2011 - 06:56

A new menu item "Save all workspaces" would be helpfull, too.

#0
user-offline.png  James_s (James_s)
Oct 07, 2011 - 10:36

The auto save should probably not overwrite the existing workspace if you subsequentily use save as to save it to a different name. The changes made might be intended for a different workspace name.
and when closing workspaces why not prompt to save only if there have been changes?

#0
user-offline.png  Guest (Guest)
Dec 04, 2014 - 18:57

It is a very dangerous idea. Many a times we modify workspaces during the day: add a new indicator, add a trendline with the aim or removing it etc etc.. There is no intention to actually modify the workspace. If MC starts to auto-save say every 15 minutes, our previous workspace (that we want to use again and again) will get overwritten.
Autosave is a good idea for word, excel but not for a trading software where a lot of money is on the line. Any small mistake and you can lose a lot of money. It is much better if trader/developer is forced to commit any changes he makes to the workspace, by going to file menu and saving it manually.

#1
user-offline.png  Alex MultiCharts (Alex MultiCharts)
Aug 11, 2017 - 09:25
It is not planned for the nearest future.
History
Issue basics
User pain
  • Type of bug
    Not triaged
  • Likelihood
    Not triaged
  • Effect
    Not triaged
Affected by this issue (3)
People involved
  • Posted by
    user-offline.png  arnie (arnie)
  • Owned by
    Not owned by anyone
  • Assigned to
    Not assigned to anyone
  • Subscribers
    1 subscriber(s)
    Click here to show the list of subscribers
Times and dates
  • Posted at
  • Last updated
Issue details
  • Resolution
    Not determined
  • Severity
    Normal
Attachments (0)
There is nothing attached to this issue
Commits (0)
There are no code checkins for this issue
Duplicate issues (0)
This issue does not have any duplicates