+1 888 340 6572
MultiCharts Project Management
previous_open_issue.png
Go to the previous open issue
previous_issue.png
Go to the previous issue (open or closed)
star_faded.png
Please log in to bookmark issues
feature_request_small.png
Open Feature request MC-942

Confirmation Prompt: Are you sure you want to delete this study/indicator?

action_vote_minus_faded.png
10
Votes
action_vote_plus_faded.png
next_issue.png
Go to the next issue (open or closed)
next_open_issue.png
Go to the next open issue
Description

I think it would be a good idea to have a confirmation promp when a user deletes a study (from the chart itself especially). Here is the problem. I will at times highlight a manually created drawing tool and quickly press the delete button and without realizing it I have accidentally highlighted a drawing that was created by a study and when I press the delete button the study is gone. Getting it back means I have to fire up MC on the notebook to see what the parameter settings are and reapply them all then close down MC on the notebook. This is a long process compared to having to answer that simple confirmation during the times I delete a study (which is basically never). Just imagine if a user does not have MC on another machine with a copy of the same workspace and settings. In fact maybe if the study is being deleted on the chart a double confirmation is needed for deleting it (a second question "are you really sure you want to delete this study". I actually would prefer to remove the option of deleting studies from the chart all together (however this should be an option if done). I figure I have deleted studies on my production work space maybe 1 or 2 times in the last 4 years (except for these once every 2 or 3 months accidental deletes). I am sure I am not alone here so if a lot of people see this request You may find a lot of people vote for it.

Steps to reproduce this issue

Highlight an arrow or trend line or text on a chart that was created by a study and press the delete button. I can not remember but I think the delete of the study is immediate.

Comments (8)
#0
user-offline.png  JoshM (Jura)
May 07, 2012 - 12:23

This is a very good idea, especially for the "Remove All Studies" option. It has happened me more than once that I wanted to click on the "Remove All Drawings" and accidentially removed all indicators, and then having to rebuild the chart with the correct settings.

It's not good usability to have two roughly named the same menu items ("Remove All Studies" and "Remove All Drawing") clustered together, without any warning or confirmation promp.

If you think the user will not appreciate a confirmation promp when a indicator gets removed from the chart, add a check box like "Don't warn me again".

#0
user-offline.png  JoshM (Jura)
May 07, 2012 - 12:28

Otherwise, if you don't think this feature request is needed, at least implement something like a Undo button, which shoud also restore all accidentially removed indicators.

See for example issue#790 and issue#795 for the Undo button.

#0
user-offline.png  arnie (arnie)
Nov 08, 2012 - 03:39

Yes, it's a very good idea, although I would favored an Undo button with at leat 10 levels.

#0
user-offline.png  John Bowles (bowlesj3)
Nov 08, 2012 - 07:49

Undo would be even better but I very strongly suspect it would be a lot harder to program. So maybe one could be done then the other later. Deleting studies on purpose is actually very rare in my experience (almost never). Normally I turn them off temporarily. For me, unintentionally deleting a study/indicator normally occurs when I go to delete a manually placed drawing object and unintentionally highlight a plot or drawing object created by the study. I do this probably every few months. I am somewhat lucky in that I can fire up the notebook and view the settings by opening the live work-space that gets copied over to the notebook every night. However even with that advantage getting the study back in place with the proper parameter settings takes 5 to 10 minutes. If someone has only one computer or does not make a copy every night then deleting a study becomes a bigger problem. Loosing 5/10 minutes (or more) during the trading day is not a good thing. That is why this thread was created. So this fairly short programming effort will save many traders (the ones who are not 100% automated which is probably most) many times that short programming effort within the first year. I am going to guess that the time to program this is about 1 hour per drawing object that could be deleted from the chart. It could also be put in the other location where studies are listed for the chart where the delete button is located. That too would be helpful. In this case it would be good to locate that delete button a farther distance from the other bottoms (maybe a space of 2 or 3 buttons away).

#0
user-offline.png  John Bowles (bowlesj3)
Nov 08, 2012 - 07:52

Maybe it could be an option as well with the check-box asking if you want to keep seeing this prompt.

#0
user-offline.png  John Bowles (bowlesj3)
Dec 27, 2012 - 18:30

I just discovered the "delete all studies" option in the right click menu today. That very definitely would be something I wouod want to mark as (not enabled) if I had the option to do so. Today I accidently deleted all studies before a trade which was worth about $500 per contract. It happened so fast I am not sure exactly how it happened. I went back to see if such an option existed and sure enough the villian was there. I am curious if anyone would ever want to use such an option. I would think that it never gets used. I would rather it be blocked out as an option rather than have to try and figure out what the prompt meant especially when a trade is a few seconds away.

#0
user-offline.png  John Bowles (bowlesj3)
Feb 01, 2013 - 09:04

Actually, for me it would be ideal if I could lock a study so that it is impossible to delete it from anywhere unless I chose to go back and unlock it. Therefore any attempt to delete the study would be presented with "Your study is locked. Unlock your study then issue the delete command again.". What can happen at times is the key strokes that get sent out to turn a study on and off at times will not work because of a windows backlog in the messages. At times this will cause a study to be deleted. I have had this happen twice so far. In fact it happens so fast at times it takes a while to realize the study is actually gone. The sending of keystrokes is great until this happens. At that point it can wipe out at least 20 minutes of trading time if the defaults are not always maintained for the study. I noticed the vote on this is now up to 7. I am not at all surprised. Not too many people will be wanting to delete studies on a regular basis. If it is a temporary study (or unimportant) simply do not lock it.

#0
user-offline.png  John Bowles (bowlesj3)
Feb 01, 2013 - 10:08

So to add to the prior comment, I guess the ideal way would be different levels of locking.
0 = no lock as it is now (my choice for short term studies/indicators).
1 = A popup that gives you a chance to cancel the mistake or go ahead.
2 = A second popup asking "are you really sure" since we often do keystrokes very quickly.
3 = A popup telling you that the study is locked and you have to go and unlock it first.
4 = No popup of any kind. It just simply ignores the delete action (my choice for most studies).
5 = ability to undo the delete as some has requested.

History
Issue basics
  • Type of issue
    Feature request
  • Category
    Usability
  • Targeted for
    MultiCharts 8.7 (RELEASED)
  • Status
    Released
User pain
  • Type of bug
    Not triaged
  • Likelihood
    Not triaged
  • Effect
    Not triaged
Affected by this issue (3)
People involved
Times and dates
  • Posted at
  • Last updated
Issue details
  • Resolution
    Not determined
  • Severity
    Normal
Attachments (0)
There is nothing attached to this issue
Commits (0)
There are no code checkins for this issue
Duplicate issues (0)
This issue does not have any duplicates